Bill Etra’s work changed the face of video forever and on October 7th, Anton Marini, Benton C Bainbridge, and Tom Zafian, along with guests both near and far will commemorate Etra through a 12-hour visual performance. Credited with helping to make video an art form through the invention of the Rutt-Etra synthesizer, Etra made seminal works alongside pioneers like Nam Jun Paik. 

Participants: Kjell Bjørgeengen, Rick Reed, Rebecca Uliasz, David Linton, Matthew Schlanger, Eric Barry Drasin / Diggers, Louise Ledeen, Dean Winkler, Kit Fitzgerald, Katherine Liberovskaya & Keiko Uenishi, Barbara Held, Joan Bofill, Raven Kwok, Kate Parsons, Estevan Carlos Benson, & Eras, Jonas Bers, Laurie Spiegel, Tom Ditto, Steve Nalepa, Debora and Jason Bernagozzi, Minou Maguna, H3rmana, Milena Pafundi, Mariela Bond, Martin Borini, Wili Peloche, Alex Dogrush, Lucas Gutierrez, Lucas DM, Gastón Luciani, Nestor Braslavsky, Ignacio Maderna y Javier Casadidio aka YOPERRO, Ursula Scherrer, V Owen Bush/Glowing Pictures, 99 Hooker, Martin Back, Casey REAS, Just Misfit, District Dodger, Vibeke Sorensen, Chris King / Video Circuits

Networked Locations: New York, Los Angeles, Barcelona, Vienna, Buffalo, London, Fort Collins, Seoul

Additionally, there will be an AV jam organized by in the spirit of Bill Etra who participated in many SHARE sessions.

This presentation is made possible in part with public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts’ 2017 Electronic Media and Film Presentation Funds Grant program, administered by The ARTS Council of the Southern Finger Lakes.